Legacy playable in Commander 2014?

command tower banner

For the longest time, it seemed as if Dualcaster Mage was going to be this year’s True-Name Nemesis, and Dualcaster Mage has the downside of costing double-red, making it almost strictly worse than Snapcaster Mage because it’s red and more situational. A shame, because I really like Dualcaster Mage and if it finds a home in Legacy, I’ll be happy. But then, this thing shows up in my feed:

masterwork of ingenuity

I’m not saying that this thing is the new True-Name Nemesis. It will easily see play in EDH decks that don’t even have many equipments of their own, since you can always copy someone’s Lightning Greaves, something often done with cards like Phyrexian Metamorph. Further, the format is home to a lot of great equipment like Sword of Fire and Ice and its cousins, or why not just copy a Batterskull?

The highest selling point for Masterwork of Ingenuity is that it can be tutored with Trinket Mage, who happens to go into just about every blue deck ever, because every blue deck plays with at least Sol Ring and Sensei’s Divining Top. If you’re already in blue and running that package, you might just as well add this thing too. It’s a bit narrow, but should be able to do good work.

I can even see this in Legacy, as a sideboard card against Batterskull and the like. It even has the upside of being much easier to return and re-cast than Batterskull, should something happen to a Germ token.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. psykopatmullvad

     /  October 30, 2014

    When I first saw this, I did not belive it. Was it really a 1-mana-Batterskull for Legacy (since it has its own Living Weapon trigger you dont have to pay to equip it 🙂 )? It sure can be!
    I LOVE the card, it is the card I love the most so far from the spoilers. I want to try it in Legacy. I want one for commander, all my commanderdecks wants one.

    Do we know if every deck of the new ones gets a copy of this?

    Like

    Reply
    • Grim Lavamancer

       /  October 30, 2014

      The only deck list that has been spoiled so far is the Black one, which did not get it. I’m 99% sure that it’s for the white deck, since it has an equipment theme and all.

      Like

      Reply
  2. I’d wager only the white one gets it, since it’s rare and all. The only repeated rares I can think of in the previous decks is Solemn Simulacrum.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

