Erebos updated

erebos banner

Though Brion will always be special to me, I’ve decided to downgrade the deck to my tertiary EDH for now in order to focus on Erebos. After playing with the deck last weekend and after making some changes to the deck, I’ve begun to feel even more empowered by its Mono-Blackness. It’s… intoxicating.

I’ve made quite a few changes to the list, and wanted to present my reasoning behind them. Hopefully, it will spark some sort of debate and you guys can help me continue working on the deck.

urborg,tombofyawgmoth.hqFirst of all, I’ve added the good lands to the deck: Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth, Vesuva and Deserted Temple all play well with Cabal Coffers, and especially Urborg is obviously mandatory to any black EDH deck that likes to play with a lot of Swamps. These were changes I was expecting to make eventually, and I traded for the lands last weekend. Good stuff there.

I’ve cut the simple “draw two, pay two” spells (Sign in Blood, Night’s Whisper, Read the Bones). They are pretty good cards, but the deck does draw a lot of cards with the general himself most of the time, and I’ve added some other card-drawing spells since the deck’s inception, most notably Necropotence. The deck’s latest version contains Disciple of Bolas who has been doing rather well – sacrificing something like Grave Titan isn’t a big deal, but drawing six cards is! He also combos well with Phyrexian Reclamation. I’m thinking about adding some more utility reanimation to the deck as well, like Dread Return, Chainer, Dementia Master or Victimize. Lastly, Skeletal Scrying is absolute bonkers, and it shames me as a Magic player that it wasn’t a part of the deck earlier. Finishing off the lap around the table by tapping out for it at the end of the last opponent’s turn is so unfair. It does require a stacked grave, unfortunately, but that is usually not a big issue. All of this taken into account, however, I don’t want to turn this into a graveyard deck since it will make it the target for everyone’s random Bojuka Bogs and Erebos hates that.

abyssalpersecutor.hq

IQ: 65

Another change to the deck is that I cut the dumbest of the dumb beaters like Demon of Wailing Agonies and Abyssal Persecutor. I like them both, and they are certainly cool cards, but neither is very good, and only the latter has an immediate, and negative, impact on the board when played. The deck had no shortage of dumb beaters anyway, Grave Titan comes with the upside that it’s somewhat immune to my own Innocent Blood and Barter in Blood, Korlash, Heir to Blackblade is usually bigger than all the other dumb beaters combined (and thus, is the dumbest himself), and Bloodgift Demon, Massacre Wurm and Butcher of Malakir all come with great effects tacked on, and thus are not genuine dumb beaters. They do get the job done, but in a slightly more refined way.

obnixilis,unshackled.full

IQ: 97

My replacements for the dumbest beaters came in the shape of Ghoulcaller Gisa and Ob Nixilis, Unshackled. While Gisa is not in herself a dumb beater, she produces tons of them, and like Disciple of Bolas, she combos well with some of the reanimation aspects of the deck. I was very impressed with her in the mono-black preconstructed deck, and hopefully, she’ll deliver here as well. Ob Nixilis, on the other hand, is a hate card in disguise of a beater, and thus of a much more average intelligence. He’s something of a Stranglehold that will also beat people up.

These changes, along with some changes to the artifacts in the deck leads us up to the most current list: You’re the Boss, Erebos v. 2 on TappedOut.net. The one card I’m missing is Myriad Landscape, which will be added to the deck immediately. Not sure where it went in the process, but it should surely be there. Something needs to be cut, though, and it looks like one of the non-black mana rocks will get the axe, likely Worn Powerstone.

What do you think of the deck? Are the changes any good? Most importantly, how do you think you would react to playing against the deck? Leave a comment!

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. psykopatmullvad

     /  November 21, 2014

    I think these changes amde the deck alot better. The landchanges should aslso make it more stable, even if monodecks are stable from the start. Deserted Temple is really sweet.
    You should have named it Need for Greed tho 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Grim Lavamancer

     /  November 21, 2014

    Be careful of too powerful creatures though. A deck filled with Scaled Wurm and his friends will rarely become the target of Bribe, Treachery and cards like them. Nothing hurts more than to see your trusted Hellkite Overlord spearheads the force that will destroy you. Et tu, Brute? Indeed.

    The changes seems to be quite good, though. The deck should be a lot stronger. How has Necropotence been working out for you so far?

    Like

    Reply
    • I don’t think I’ve resolved it more than twice so far. The first time, it won me the game, more or less, the second time, I already had Erebos in play and seven cards in hand, so it didn’t do that much.

      Like

      Reply
      • Grim Lavamancer

         /  November 21, 2014

        It is without a doubt quite powerful. But I am curious as to just how powerful it is in EDH. I trust you’ll provide me with more information when you’ve had the chance to try it out some more?

        Liked by 1 person

  3. psykopatmullvad

     /  November 22, 2014

    I dont like Necropotence. I know it is a powerful card, Im just not sure I could handle it the way you should to maximise its potentials. Im scared of it.
    Also, would Necr fit in a Zergo dedck, or is it more monob-ish=

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

