100th post extravaganza

elvish house party banner

The art above is for the Unhinged Elvish House Party and I have to say I never realized how extremely creepy the art is. 

This is the 100th post on this blog! I didn’t write a hundred post here, but thanks to my dear co-contributors, Psykopatmullvad and Grim Lavamancer, we’ve now reached a hundred published posts since august of this year. That’s almost one post per day, which is higher than my ambition when I started this blog. In order to celebrate this occasion, I’ve chosen my top 5 best post written by PurgAtog so far on this blog.

5. The best of timesThough the post itself isn’t stellar, it’s mostly a tournament report devoid of many important details, I look back on the post fondly because I look back at the weekend it details fondly, and it was the first long Magic tournament convention weekend I did rather well in in a long time (4-2-1 and 5-1-1 in Legacy, 5-1 in Sealed). It also contains a bunch of name-dropping, which, as we all know, always improves a post, an opinion or anything really.

4. Surrak Dragonclaw ProxyDesigned and drawn by Grim Lavamancer himself, this art obviously trumps the official Surrak Dragonclaw by a mile and a half. There’s no way I could feature a top 5 list without this post, which was technically written by me, although the focus of the point was done by Grim Lavamancer.

3. Top 5: EDH cards that makes me want to flip the tableAside the fact that the title is much too long, this is in my book one of the more informative posts on the blog, while it allowed me to vent some steam regarding my frustrations with the format as a whole. Much needed for any group, the house bannings were further expanded upon in The Gentleman way, and hopefully these two posts together could serve as some sort of a guide for other groups. I like them both, the former slightly more.

2. Top 5: Questions I hate to answerNot only a top 5, but also using the quaint “things that make me drink” tag, this post details my grievances with the game as a social norm. It is self-reflecting in some ways and jokes quite a bit on the community’s expense. I think it’s quite funny, but then again, I’m quite full of myself (as should be evident by this post if nothing else).

1. My issues with GreenThe best post, as written by me, and according to me, is a study of the colour pie philosophy of the colour green. Mark Rosewater has yet to comment on the post, nor did the post generate the amounts of traffic I expected, so your homework for tomorrow is to e-mail Mark Rosewater with a link to the post in question.

With this short stroll down memory lane, I sincerely thank everyone who’s reading this blog, and especially those who take the time to comment on the posts. Here’s to another 100!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Grim Lavamancer

     /  November 30, 2014

    I have four things to say:

    1. That Elvish house party, someones gonna get raped.
    2. Regarding Surrak I am quite sorry that I got my hands on the actual card so quickly. I think I only got the chance to play that glorious prox in two games.
    3. You’ve had quite a few really good posts so far, my personal favorite is “Top 5: Questions I hate to answer”.
    4. Congratulations on the 100th post! Now, let’s see how fast we can hit 500! (With quality posts that is).

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

