My Magic christmas wish list

sf67_infernalSpawnSlice

As the days grow shorter and we approach the jule tide, many like to reflect on the year past and make wishes and promises for the coming year. Not one to go against the grains in this case, I will do so as well, starting with the wishing for the coming christmas season.

yasovadragonclawI wish for a cycle of good wedge legends in Fate Reforged to use as generals in EDH. Looking at Khans of Tarkir, I really only like Surrak Dragonclaw. The rest are either quite under-powered in EDH, or strictly too much of a build-around legend for my taste. Yasova Dragonclaw, the ancestor of Surrak in the story, promises some very interesting legends in Fate Reforged – since she could technically be the general of several different colour combinations, mono-green, green-blue, green-red, and blue-green-red, at least rules wise, and all the combinations aside the first one would be able to use her ability! A cycle of similar legends is sure to be printed in Fate Reforged, and I can’t wait to see what they’ve cooked up.

I wish for lots of neat Legacy events. Though EDH is probably my favourite format and my all-time top pass time, Legacy is where I keep my competitive side alive and burning. With a format that is spiralling out of control price-wise, and with SCG cutting the prize support and coverage for their Legacy tournaments quite a bit, one can be forgiven for thinking the format is going through some sort of crisis. I hope no cards are banned in January, I’d prefer it if they un-banned things instead, Mystical Tutor perhaps? Un-bannings, along with Fate Reforged, hopefully sparks some life into the format, and prompts some good Legacy events in Sweden next year.

ruggedprairie.hqI wish for filter lands in Modern Masters 2015. The filter lands, i.e. Rugged Prairie and friends, from Shadowmoor and Eventide, are reaching quite ridiculous prices, much thanks to their popularity in Modern, but also sheer usefulness in EDH. I own none of these lands, and haven’t been arsed to drop the cash on them just yet. It’s not that I’m that poor, it’s just an opposition to dropping $15+ on random lands for my EDH decks feels like a waste when they’re sure to get a reprint some time.

I wish for much less cheating. I’ve been writing quite a bit about cheating by prolific players at high-level events this year, and it’s a sad truth that people resort to blatant cheating when money’s on the line. I might as well wish for a lottery-winning ticket, since chances are people will still cheat next year, but as long as we’re wishing, we might just roll with it, right? I wish that the people who are habitually cheating at tournaments sees the error of their ways, and I wish that the people who have been caught cheating learns their lessons and returns to the game with a new sense of piousness. Not holding my breath on this one.

And that’s it, that’s all I want for christmas! What are you wishing for, Magic-wise, dear reader? Leave a comment below!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Grim Lavamancer

     /  December 21, 2014

    “Dear Magic Santa. For Christmas this year I want a lot of decent heavy hitters for my EDH-colours (that is URG) that’s good in their own rights without having to rely to heavily on broken “enter the battlefield” effects, I hope I will find them in the next few expansions.

    I want an Ali from Cario in my stocking, since he’s awesome.

    Also, since I’ve been a good boy this year I want a reprint of Grim Lavamancer. One that doesn’t make me look like an idiot this time, please.

    Merry X-mas,
    Grim Lavamancer”

    Like

    Reply
    • Turns out, I got nothing of the above, but I did get an Xbox One. 😛 I feel like a kid!

      Like

      Reply
      • Grim Lavamancer

         /  January 7, 2015

        That’s nice! I got a vinyl player so I feel like an old man ;).
        But I also got Omega Ruby so I’m at least childish old man.

        Like

Leave a Reply

