Resolutions for 2015

sf67_infernalSpawnSlice

The holidays are almost over, at least here in Sweden, we do have another day off on Tuesday, i.e. Epiphany, meaning most of us won’t start work until Wednesday. I’m celebrating my Epiphany by playing in the finals of the local Magic league that’s been going on over 2014. I haven’t participated in a single big tournament in town since March, for various reasons, but four people that were qualified for the event had to bow out, so I made the cut for T12 being fourth reserve. Not really deserving, considering I haven’t played much there, but still.

The tournament is nine rounds of swiss, three rounds of Standard, three rounds of Legacy, followed by a cut to top 8, which will be three rounds of Khans of Tarkir draft, everything tallied up at the end of the day, so no single-elimination. I still don’t have a Standard deck, so I’m not sure how to work that bit out, we’ll see. I will be posting a report here anyway, if I can remember enough details to make it interesting.

forceofwill.hqOther than that, there are plenty of Magic just around the corner, two big events in March and April respectively, and my first new year’s resolution for 2015 is to either take them a lot more seriously or not seriously at all, I haven’t decided. Going less serious is fine, but half-assing it like I tend to do now isn’t alright.

With that in mind, going even more casual in EDH is a good think, I think. I’m afraid the losses get to me in a way it should’t when playing a casual format with friends. Playing less blue is a way to fix this, since any deck without blue technically isn’t a Magic deck. Thus, my second resolution for 2015 is to play more non-blue decks in EDH. This isn’t possible in Legacy, since I don’t own the lands for it, and the idea of playing non-blue in an eternal format seems like a good way to lose rounds one and two to combo and then go home early. Playing less Magic isn’t in my interest.

dreamcache.hqAside the obvious issue of “not enough time”, I also felt that during 2014, I didn’t spend enough cash on the hobby. I hate not wanting to spend money on drafts or singles for my EDH decks, and, while my fiancé and I have a wedding to save up for, I will be starting a new job this week with a more normal salary, meaning the days of turning over pennies to finance drafts are probably over. At least I hope so. In any case, my third resolution is to spend more cash on the game. Everyone likes it when we consume you know.

And that’s it. Those are my three resolutions for 2015! What are your Magic-related resolutions for 2015? Tell me in the comments!

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Grim Lavamancer

     /  January 7, 2015

    I’m going to try to do more “so crazy it’s awesome” stuff in EDH. And I’ll try to build at least one new deck.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

