Ding dong, the witch is dead!

treasure cruise bannerAfter much anticipation, here’s the total tally for the new Banned and Restricted list:

Standard:
No changes.

Modern:
Treasure Cruise, Dig Through Time and Birthing Pod are banned.
Golgari Grave-Troll is no longer banned.

Legacy:
Treasure Cruise is banned.
Worldgorger Dragon is no longer banned.

Vintage:
Treasure Cruise is restricted.
Gifts Ungiven is no longer restricted.

So in total, I was correct about Standard, one card off from Legacy and Modern, and way off on Vintage. I thought Jesaki Ascendancy was up for the chopping block, but apparently breaking the “three-turn kill” rule wasn’t as damning after all. One of the readers also commented on this:

Skärmavbild 2015-01-20 kl. 20.57.40

 

I agree, I had no idea what I was talking about. I didn’t see the DCI banning Birthing Pod, again, I have no idea what I’m talking about – though in my world, knowing what one is talking about when it comes to Modern is akin to being able to recite the Bristol Stool Scale from memory.

Treasure Cruise getting the axe in both Modern and Legacy, as well as Vintage, wasn’t really surprising. It was clearly too good for the faster formats, and really needed to go. I’m glad they kept Dig Through Time in Legacy, since it’s a bit more restrictive and less objectively powerful than its common Dredge brethren.

I’ll post an in-depth view on the winners and losers in the Legacy format due to this ban tomorrow, but for now – what do you think, dear reader? Leave a comment below!

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. randomName#359 aka Nargluj

     /  January 20, 2015

    Looks like I’m in the front row of the “winners train” in modern and legacy. Single deck change: One less treasure cruise in my sideboard.

    Since they banned pod I guess that’s a very good reason to not unban bloodbraid elf since Jund/Junk/Rock will fill most of the void it has left behind. Pod leaving the format is a huge thing. HUGE. It will be missed, even by those that never played it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

