In with the old, in with the new

dragons of tarkir banner

Spoiler season is, again, upon us, and I must say I’m really excited. Khans of Tarkir was awesome, Fate Reforged clearly above-average, and for the last third-set Magic ever sees, I expect them to bring nothing but the biggest of guns. Two cards that, out of the eleven spoiled so far, that really caught my attention were these two:

sidisi

silumgar

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Both of these, obviously, are seen in the previous sets in the block as Sidisi, Brood Tyrant and Silumgar, the Drifting Death. Especially Sidisi has undergone drastic changes between the different timelines and in the new present Tarkir, she’s an undead naga serving the new dragonlord rather than being the khan.

Further, this article from Uncharted Realms dealing with Sarkhan’s return to the present time shows a very different image of the Mardu khan:

zurgo bell striker

Zurgo Helmsmasher is no longer a helm smasher nor a helms masher, depending on linguistical perspective, he is striking nothing but bells in this timeline, and is left with a much-less impressive physique. Time will tell if he’s mono-red this time around, since Sidisi lost her other colours, but I generally don’t really want a cycle – I’d much rather see a planeswalker version of Narset.

The new version of Silumgar does promise new versions of the other dragonlords, however, and I for one am really looking forward to Ojutai!

stampeding elk herdSpeaking of which, I haven’t yet figured out which dragonlord to worship during the pre-release. Dromoka was great the time I played her old version in draft, and Abzan has in general been kind to me during Khans limited – but my heart is really Temur and thus Atarka. There’s still time, so I think I’ll wait for them to show some more cards, but Stampeding Elk Herd seems very nice in limited. A 5/5 for five is above the curve in most sets at least, and the Formidable ability seems easy enough to trigger with this thing on the field.

I also like blue, but I was never a fan of neither Jeskai nor Sultai, and time will tell if there will be common dual lands in Dragons of Tarkir which would allow for a good old blue splash in my Atarka deck.

What are you going to play at the prerelease? Tell me in the comments section below!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Grim Lavamancer

     /  March 4, 2015

    Oh, Zurgo… How the mighty have fallen. It looks like he’s not going to be crashing any ships in this expansion. I wonder how emasculated Surrak has become in this new timeline.

    Anyway the new set looks very cool! And you should totally go for Temur during the draft, Mark Rosewater wrote on his blog that it’s going to be very easy to draft in a wedge.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

