Magic Origins: Jhessian Thief

magic origins banner

Magic Origins previews kicked off somewhat today, with Mark Rosewater himself showing thee cards in his column. Two things excited me about this, the fact that Prowess is now an evergreen mechanic – though it might be in blue and red, and it would fix the “blue and red has the least mechanical overlap” issue, while still making sure blue/red creatures have something to do, and the following card. They have alos keyworded “Can’t be blocked except by two or more creatures” and called it Menace, which I think is both fitting and something Rx needs. Intimidate has its issues, as Rosewater explains in the column, and Menace is a cool evasion ability that also happens to be interactive. Gold star!

Further, this little doozy was revealed towards the end:

Jhessian Thief

Jhessian Thief, courtesy of Gideon’s exploration to Bant, is Ophidian but way better, meaning it is not only a pretty cool card for limited purposes, it will also fit right into my Thassa deck! Oh joy to see good new cards on the first day of spoiler season!

What do you think of Jhessian Thief? Leave a comment!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Grim Lavamancer

     /  June 9, 2015

    I like the theif alot! A good ol’ card with a modern twist to it. Nice to see prowess so soon after Tarkir, I didn’t expect that. I hope the rest of the set will turn out nice as well. I’m actually a bit excited!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Nice that they’re adding prowess as a evergreen keyword. I think they’re doing morph? Anyway, great card for that Thassa unblock able deck that you got going.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. crazyaboutmtg

     /  June 13, 2015

    Nice to see some new evergreen keywords to spice up the game. I heard they’re adding morph as aa evergreen keyword, or am I wrong?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I don’t think so, or rather, I haven’t heard anything about it. I’d love Morph as an evergreen keyword, but it has such a huge impact on the limited environments. I think we’ll see it again before long, but not evergreen.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • crazyaboutmtg

         /  June 24, 2015

        They’re not adding morph, but they are adding scry.

        Like

Leave a Reply

