More braggning

forest banner

The forest banner has nothing to do with the post, but I think it’s beautiful.

I’ve already Tweeted and Facebooked about this, but in case someone missed it – here it goes again. I got married yesterday to the girl of my dreams, and she proved it again this morning. We exchanged wedding gifts with each other; I gave her a fancy bag she really wanted, and she gave me a nice watch. I was happy and content with the watch, but she wasn’t done. She handed me a piece of cardboard wrapped in cloth, and taped onto the cardboard, in a sleeve, was this:

cryptApparently, our very own friendly neighborhood Grim Lavamancer, famous among other things for writing and drawing our webcomic Mana Burn, and also being part of the wedding procession, had helped my wife with procuring the gift.

It’s easily EX+, maybe even NM-, one of the finest Mana Crypts I’ve laid eyes on, maybe the best looking Mana Crypt I’ve seen signed. For obvious reasons, it’s the most important Mana Crypt in the world to me.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. crazyaboutmtg

     /  September 13, 2015

    Hope you and your wife have a great relationship! Awesome Mana Crypt! It’s even signed!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Grim Lavamancer

     /  September 14, 2015

    The quest for the Mana Crypt meant I had to venture into the seedy underbelly of the vintage black market. An acquaintance of mine set up a meeting with this shady character in an abandoned warehouse. I had my doubt about the deal, but after showing the breifcase of cash I carried with me the shrouded figure allowed me to inspect the card, which made me feel a bit more at ease.

    Alas! It turned out that the dealer had no intentions of parting with the crypt, and that whoever it was distracted me with the card while two assualt rifle packing goons had crept up behind me ready to redecorate the floor with my brains. Fortunately none of them had dealt with lavamancers before, and what was even more fortunate was that I had come prepared with two cards in my graveyard and a red mana in my manapool. I tell you, the most difficult thing about that combat phase was to keep the card from getting scorched by magma.

    Who was the mysterious figure you ask? No idea, lava tends to make ones face unrecognisable. I doubt even the person’s dentist will be able to figure it out. The only thing I was able discover was a faded symbol of Phyrexia tattooed on my foe’s left palm! I guess I’ll be spending my next couple of months hunting down sleeper agents…

    Anyway, I got out with both the Mana Crypt and my life, so I consider it a victory for the good guys.

    Of course, none of the above is actually true. The reality was far less dramatic, but I was happy to lend a hand either way. Congratulations on the marriage again! Hopefully you’ll be able to use the crypt quite soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. psykopatmullvad

     /  September 14, 2015

    May it bring you many manas and a lot of hurts 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

