How I’m a bad person and other secrets

edric bannerSometimes I really like to tech and build (and play) Vorthosian decks (see my posts about Ob Nixilis of the Black Oath as an example), and sometimes I like to build really good decks (see Tasigur). Other times, I like to build decks that are both janky on paper and pretty powerful when played – which I did last week looking forward to yesterday’s EDH night. I decided to sleeve up Edric, Spymaster of Trest. I haven’t played with him before, and I love how you can play really janky creatures in it, and they perform pretty well.

walkers

My list can be found here:

I want *all* the secrets on TappedOut.net

As is evident by the list, I’m missing some of the most fundamental one-drops for the deck to work, and I have placed an overseas order for some of the missing rares as well. Most notably, I’m missing Notorious Throng, and I thought I had one lying around the club, but alas, I was mistaken. That said, the deck performed way above what I could expect from a first-timer.

The deck plan is the same as every Edric deck, drop a couple of cheap creatures, drop Edric, draw lots of cards and crush everyone under the might of card advantage.

I arrived a bit later than the rest of the lads, but managed to get a game in with two other people. I was up against:

Glissa, the Traitor (Fight, artifact value town)glissa,thetraitor.hq

Ezuri, Renegade Leader (Elves!)

Notably, all of us played generals with the creature type Elf and a CMC of 3.

In the game, I started off pretty strong, with some mana acceleration followed by a two-drop into Edric. I drew a lot of cards but didn’t find any of my specific win cons. On turn three or so, I played Time Warp even though I was far from having a lethal board state, just to draw a few more cards. Drawing another four cards for five mana seemed like a good idea, but it was probably a mistake.

ezuri,renegadeleader.hq

Ezuri won the first game in style! #trample

After another turn or two, Ezuri managed to make a really large amount of mana with Priest of Titania and Quirion Ranger. He hit Glissa for about 70 points of damage after activating Ezuri three times. I got another turn with Cryptic Command tapping down his team, but I had to find either mass-removal in the form of my lone Oblivion Stone or the obligatory Cyclonic Rift; or failing that, find spot removal for Ezuri + a counterspell. I did no such thing and was pummeled by the elves the following turn.

Grim Lavamancer, of Mana Burn fame, joined our table after the game. Ezuri is played by his younger brother, by the way. Grim Lavamancer was piloting his new deck, headed by Daretti, and we were off to a four-player free-for-all, just the way God intended it.

I actually did manage to win the next two games, both in similar fashion. In the first chasmskulker.fullgame, I had a Chasm Skulker in play, with 15 (!) counters on it, along with a large amount of random 1/1’s. I also had Beastmaster Ascension with 7+ counters on it. At the end of Ezuri’s turn, before my turn, I cast Pongify on my own Chasm Skulker. This resulted in it turning into fifteen 6/6’s. I won the game on the following turn. The second game played out pretty much the same, even though I didn’t find Beastmaster Ascension until the very last turn of the game, resulting in Daretti, my only opponent left, scooping.

My most disgusting play of the match actually had nothing to do with the deck in general – it was Daretti casting a Miracle Reforge the Soul, to which I respoded with an overloaded Cyclonic Rift.

So, three pretty great games under the belt of Edric, and though I had to leave early, I had to get a game in with Yasova, featuring my newly-acquired Mana Crypt. The game was pentagram, and my allies were Sliver Hivelord and Merieke Ri Berit (played by psykopatmullvad). My opponents were Daretti and Kruphix, God of the Horizons. The game started slowly due to a turn three Blood Moon from Daretti which I eventually Chaos Warped using the Mana Crypt no less. After a few back and forths, Kruphix cast a Terastodon and blew up a few permanents.

riteofreplication.hqI didn’t hesistate (since I had to leave) and cast a kicked Rite of Replication on it, and blew up all my other permanents aside a Temur Ascendancy, leaving me with five 9/9’s and 14 3/3’s. I killed Krupix, but didn’t have enough damage to finish off the Goblin Pope. He was getting lots of indestructable blockers through Pentavus + Darksteel Forge. On the following turn, Sliver Hivelord killed Merieke, getting him the win since his other enemy Krupix was dead.

Really epic conclusion to an epic game indeed, and I love how I got to play with the Mana Crypt in the very first game I could!

Here’s to more long(er) nights of EDH!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Grim Lavamancer

     /  September 21, 2015

    I really appreciate the sort of all in tactics you used in the last game. Since EDH isn’t as competitive as other formats it leaves a lot of room for Gung-Ho stuff like you did. Sure sometimes a cyclonic rift stops you dead in your tracks, but a little recklessness often make the games become a lot more memorable.

    After you left we played two more pentagrams, both which was won by Ezuri and his horde of pumped up elves.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

