To endure is to survive

anafenza bannerFor those of you sick of all the EDH posts – tough. But I’m happy to announce that I’m looking into competing in an MTG event for the first time since ca. March this year next weekend – and it’s a Legacy event. Joy!

As I’ve said previously on the blog, I have been in the process of re-making my Dromoka deck into an Anafenza deck, and after tinkering with it for about a month, I’ve finally had a chance to try it out last Friday. It was Magic night as usual, but not many people showed up this time – in fact, for the first hour or so it was only me and Grim Lavamancer, of Mana Burn fame, around to play! We did get a few games in anyway, his Daretti vs. my Ob Nixilis, and it ended in 2-1 in favour of the Goblin catholicism. It turns out, Meekstone is a pretty good card against a deck with creatures of 5+ strength.

After we finished the planeswalker ho-down, I broke out a my Anafenza deck:

Allt åt alla, on TappedOut.net.

anafenza,theforemost.fullIt’s less Vorthos than Dromoka ever was, but still has lots of cards with the Abzan watermark. The basic idea is the same, but it plays an even better long game and has more card draw, thanks to the black addition. I like Anafenza for many of the same reasons I like Yasova – she’s not popular according to EDHrec.com, she’s a strong female character that actually looks like she’s trying to protect herself with her armour rather than show off as much skin as PG-13 possible, and she’s the head of one of the Tarkir clans. I like all the Tarkir clans, but Temur especially, and I’d say Abzan is my second favourite.

The deck has creatures that benefit from +1/+1 counters – most notably Woodfall Primus (since +1/+1 and -1/-1 counters cancel out each other), High Sentinels of Arashin, Fertilid and all the +1/+1 counter lords. I’ve also premiered creatures that can generate +1/+1 counters themselves, i.e. Vulturous Zombie, Bane of Progress, and Ob Nixilis, Unshackled to name a few. Flesh Carver falls nicely into both camps of both being able to generate counters himself and benefiting from counters from other sources.

Further, the deck tries to play a long, grindy game with plenty of sweepers, and some recursion. Both Genesis and Phyrexian Reclamation are great EDH cards. The mana base is a mess, missing plenty of lands, but I haven’t had big issues yet. I will get some of the missing lands in the coming weeks.

perniciousdeed.hqWe played a game of free-for-all when a third showed up – I was on Anafenza, vs. Daretti and Glissa, and it did turn into a grindy game. Apparently, Pernicious Deed is a very strong card against artifact based decks, and it didn’t affect me much thanks to Den Protector.

By the end of the game, Glissa was at around 30 life, with not many non-land permanents, Daretti had a bunch of artifacts on the board with Slobad being annoying and protecting them. I had a bunch of creatures, among them a 7/7 Bane of Progress and a 13/13 Outland Colossus. I tutored, and flipped through my deck, decided not to take Utter End to take care of Daretti’s Silent Arbiter, but instead take Putrefy, since Utter End is more flexible and could serve a better purpose. Of course, Daretti sacrificed something random to Slobad and made the Arbiter indestructable. I swung with Outland Colossus with Abzan Battle Priest to get me from 16 to 29, but Daretti blocked and sacked to Slobad. Of course. I could have played a Tuskguard Captain before combat through Survival of the Fittest, but missed that as well. Daretti untapped and cast Scrap Mastery. GG.

Ah, well. Losing to two on-board tricks on the same turn is all well and fair. And I’ll get Daretti next time! *shakes fist*

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Grim Lavamancer

     /  September 28, 2015

    Endure. In enduring grow strong.

    The Abzan deck throws a very mean punch actually, being capable of answering several different threats as well as laying down some heavy hitters on the table. If it weren’t for that Silent Arbiter bringing the game to a grinding halt Daretti definitely would have bitten the dust.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

