Manaburn #22 – Blood Moon

Mana burn banner

One of the things that people often ask me is “Grim Lavamancer, how do you get to be so rad and hip?” * well, I may make it seem very easy, but in truth it takes a lot of preparation. And sometimes even a lot of preparation is not enough. This was very obvious early this morning (or depending on when this gets posted on the morning of the 28th of September).

As you’ve probably heard (and possibly witnessed yourselves) a very neat lunar event, called a blood moon, happened between the night of the 27th and 28th. What a blood moon is should come as no surprise to any magic player out there since we are aware of various different kinds of moon such as Chaos Moon, Bad Moon and Pale Moon. Anyway, fancying myself a bit of a photographer I made some research on night sky photography, scouted out an excellent place, oiled up my tripod and set the alarm clock to 4 a.m. (to the great delight of my fiancée, I might add). Everything was set for an excellent picture.

Unfortunately it didn’t work out as intended for three major reasons. First of all, I had gravely misjudged the amount of (or rather lack of) light emitting from the blood moon, and was using the wrong camera settings. That alone wouldn’t have been a problem if it weren’t for that fact that I, in my infinite wisdom, had neglected to bring a flashlight and as such was fumbling around in the dark. Which was especially problematic since it turned out that I was not the only one who had scouted out the excellent place I was intending to use. And there were in fact four other cars already standing there and a small crowd gathered were I had intended to take the picture. This led to me to quickly reconvening to another spot were I ended up with the wrong camera settings, in the middle of nowhere in pitch black darkness without a flashlight.

I quickly made the choice to simply enjoy the lunar eclipse instead of trying to salvage my photo project. And it really was rather stunning. While I stood there I came up with this little comic (since I apparently can’t enjoy anything without drawing parallels to something nerdy):

This might be a bit retro as far as magic cards go. If you’re a young whipper-snapper and don’t get it, check out the cards Blood Moon and Tolarian Academy. If you do get it but didn’t find it particularly funny, give me break, I’ve been up since 4.

Next time, we’ll return to Ravnica and continue White’s origin story.

* Alright, that was a lie. No one has asked me that since Torment was standard legal.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. crazyaboutmtg

     /  September 29, 2015

    My photos were fails too. Nice comic though!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

