Deck spotlight: Psykopatmullvad’s Zurgo Helmsmasher!

zurgo bannerThis week marks another first. Though, I’ve featured other people’s decks on the site before, this is the first time I’ve actually spoken to them about it, and in this very first installment of a new series of deck spotlights, we feature co-contributor Psykopatmullvad’s take on Zurgo Helmsmasher!

Below is a link to his list, followed by a few questions about the deck. Enjoy!

Psykopatmullvad’s Zurgo Helmsmasher, on TappedOut.net.


 

zurgohelmsmasher.full

Zurgo Smash!

What does the deck do? How does it win?
This deck is a typical Voltron deck, it tries to use the commander, in this case Mr Zurgo himself, to kill the opponents in as few attacks as possible. Two is the best number of attacks, 7 damage the first time and then Double Strike for the last 14 damage next turn.

What made you build this deck?
I have always loved to play any kind of aggro decks in EDH. But I had never tried a pure Voltron deck, so I thought Zurgo might be a good commander in these colors.

Did you consider any other available commanders in this colour combination?
Yes I did. I have played Kaalia of the Vast earlier in my life. But it was not fun at all. It was always cool to get her out on turn three, and attack with some boots on. But all around the table killed me off first/hated out all my stuff early, so it quickly became a boring deck to play. Even if it is a powerful one πŸ˜€
Oros, the Avenger seems totally boring and too expensive to cast. Alesha is good, but doesn’t promote a Voltron strategy, and finally Tariel is expensive and plays completely different to Zurgo. In Mardu, Zurgo is simply the best Voltron commander available.

tenza,godosmaul.hq

I for one welcome our new maul-wielding overlords.

What are the best cards in the deck?
Zurgo! Apart from that I’d say it is Unquestioned Authority. It replaces itself and lets you attack through all the pesky blockers. Tenza, Godo’s Maul is sweet too. +3/+3 and Trample is nothing to look down on.

What are your most favourite cards in the deck?
Chandra’s Ignition. Haven’t truly gotten any sweet times out of it yet. But one day I will and it will rock the world! Angelic Destiny is a favorite too, making Zurgo an Angel is good enough, but it does so much more πŸ˜€

Any changes you’re looking to make?
One day, when I’m in the deckbuilding mood, I’m gonna put in alot more Non-Basic-Land hate. Cards like Wasteland, Strip Mine, Crucible of Worlds, Price of Glory, From the Ashes, Blood Moon and Magus of the Moon. At the same time I’m gonna cut some of my Non-basic-Lands and replace them with basics. Also adding some artifacts to search for basics sounds like a good thing.


 

And there you have it folks, the very first interview on this site is complete as well. Hopefully, I will get to pit one of my decks against this Zurgo build in the near future!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. psykopatmullvad

     /  October 11, 2015

    Was a good thing with those questions, made me have to think about the deck a bit more, making me want to improve it more πŸ˜€
    Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Grim Lavamancer

     /  October 12, 2015

    Zurgo sure is one mean son of a gun. If the deck gets a good start it’s almost impossible to stop it form killing at least one player at the table. My preferred tactic against such a rush is to whimper and look as non-threatening as possible.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

