[C15] Ezuri 2.0 and others

city of shakarSo far we know fifteen cards from Commander 2015, and I think one of the most interesting one is Ezuri, Claw of Progress:

ezuriclawofprogressIt’s pretty uninteresting that Ezuri has gone the way of Glissa and turned traitor towards his elven kin. That said, the card is pretty bad-ass and can probably fuel a strategy built similarly to Edric, Spymaster of Trest – that is, lots of cheap 1- and 2-drops, with built-in evasion. I do not think he’s even close to Edric in terms of power level, but if you play in a non-competitive metagame and you want an aggressive UG general, I think Ezuri could suffice.

I also like the following two cards a lot, probably both well-suited for my Anafenza deck in the future:

mazirekkrauldeathpriestskullwinder

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mazirek is one of those cards that could in theory get me to shell out for the proper fetchlands for Anafenza, though I’m missing two out of the three, but the effect is very, very powerful. Also, if you dorp a Fleshbag Marauder or similar and hit everyone at the table, he will trigger once for each player!

Skullwinder is a very interesting take on Eternal Witness – the body is pretty much better and it has a relevant ability, and the diplomatic effect is interesting. It could be used with graveyard hosers to make it one-sided, but then you might as well just play Eternal Witness or any of the other Regrowth effects.

What do you think of the first batch of proper spoilers? Leave a comment!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Grim Lavamancer

     /  November 3, 2015

    I’m psyched! So far my favourite card is probably Fiery Confluence, gotta love that utility. I also find this illustration very exciting: http://www.magicspoiler.com/mtg-spoiler/arjun-the-shifting-flame I’d love a good U/R Sphinx to toy around with.

    I’m not sure about the new Ezuri, he seems a bit bland. Personally I’d play Edric if I ever were to build a U/G deck with lots of small guys.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

