[C15] Meren of Clan Nel Toth

city of shakarSo we finally have our BG general spoiled – and indeed I was right about my prediction from yesterday’s post – she was the focus of today’s Uncharted Realms. Though I haven’t had time to read it yet, I have looked at her card, but before looking at it, let’s see what my predictions were about it:

Cardname 1GB
Legendary Creature – Human Shaman

Whenever a player sacrifices a creature, you get an experience counter.

T: Return target creature card with converted mana cost less than the number of experience counters you have from a graveyard to play.

1/2 (or whatever)

 

And here’s the real deal:

merenofclanneltothOkay, so I was off about most things – she is more expensive and bigger than I thought, and her ability to return something from a graveyard is a trigger, not a tap activation. That said, I was pretty spot on about how she interacts with experience counters, it is indeed on creatures dying (but only your own, though not just through sacrifice effects), and the number of expereince counters needed is more generous than I thought. She does only reanimate from the owner’s graveyard, but thinking she could pick freely was probably being overly optimistic. I’d say I’d give myself a passing grade in my future sight ability, though just barely.

Overall, I like her a lot! She is pretty similar to Savra, Queen of the Golgari in that she benefits from a deck that has a good number of sacrifice outlets, she has the same cost and she’s an obvious build-around. I can’t wait for my deck to show up in the mail box so I can get tinkering. I’m envisioning a green-black deck with around 30 creatures, lots of sacrifice outlets and some spot removal, Phyrexian Reclamation, Grave Pact, and other sweet things.

What do you think of Meren? Good? Bad? Leave a comment!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Grim Lavamancer

     /  November 5, 2015

    I like her! She’s fierce. Your guess was not too far off either.
    The dragon on her card is apparently this gem: http://www.magicspoiler.com/mtg-spoiler/scourge-of-nel-toth/ which syncs very well with Meren.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Noticed that too, though I haven’t discussed the dragon here. I’m sure the dragon too will be played in many other decks. Prossh likes him, for example.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

