[C15] Arjun, the Shifting Flame

city of shakarThe last new legendary creature (likely) from the new set is finally revealed, it is the back-up UR General, and his name is Arjun, the Shifting Flame:

arjuntheshiftingflameFlying

Whenever you cast a spell, put the cards in your hand on the bottom of your library, then draw that many cards.

I have to say it’s a resounding “meh” from me. The fact that you can’t control this is what sinks it for me personally, and mizzixoftheizmagnuseven though the art is baller, I’d say that even Izzet has better generals to offer. Mizzix, by comparison, is a much more interesting spell-based commander. Arjun can be used in tricky ways, and the ability can be chained together to look at many new cards in a single turn, but I doubt he will be played at all in the format. In fact, I bet that if someone were to build an Arjun deck, someone at the table will be holding a Notion Thief for that very first trigger.

Am I wrong? What do you think of Arjun? Leave a comment!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Grim Lavamancer

     /  November 5, 2015

    Cool flaming sphinx, you have disappointed me greatly. He’s not fit for generalship in my opinion. He can be a somewhat clever card to play amongst the 99 in the right deck, but I’d generally prefer Teferi’s Puzzelbox instead. I’m not totally heartless though, Arjun can hang with the rest of my guys, but only if he brings beer and pizza for everyone else.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Late to the party here, but Arjun seems like a decent Twin general. I threw together a list (not including Arjun and Though Vessel) here: http://www.mtgvault.com/coast/decks/arjuns-awesomeness/. It’s probably pretty bad at this stage, but I think it has potential. Basically, I just threw all the Twin pieces in U/R in with some draw spells, mana rocks, and a couple other combos. The idea is to cast so many spells that you’re nearly guaranteed to find two compatible combo cards.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

