Unsung Heroes: Diligent Farmhand

ajani bannerThis week’s Unsung Hero is Diligent Farmhand, common creature from way back in Odyssey! Let’s have a look:

diligentfarmhand.hqThe second ability is pretty much moot in EDH, since pump spells are bad in general, and Muscle Burst is pretty bad for a pump spell. However, the first ability is pretty good. He is almost a Sakura-Tribe Elder, who is a format staple for good reasons – granted it is one more mana to cast and activate in total, but if you cast the Diligent Farmhand on turn one, you can activate it as quickly as Sakura-Tribe Elder. I’m not saying “play Diligent Farmhand over Sakura-Tribe Elder”, I’m saying “consider Diligent Farmhand as well”.

Diligent Farmhand is the same mana investment as a Wayfarer’s Bauble, but it is a creature which means more cards will synergise with it, and it is easier to recur. It is also the same mana investment as Dawntreader Elk, but in the right order, meaning it is a turn faster in the beginning of the game – though Diligent Farmhand is smaller. Comparing the two on EDHREC, Dawntreader Elk is in a total of 300 decks, while Diligent Farmhand is only in 90. His most popular commander is Seton, leading me to believe that people only play Diligent Farmhand in druid tribal decks (!).

I think many green decks can consider him without shame. I play one in my Omnath deck, since it cares about landfall, and I will play one in my Meren deck, because she cares about creatures dying.

Hat’s off to you, Diligent Farmhand.


 

What do you think about Diligent Farmhand? Will you order 10 now that I’ve shown you the light? Leave a comment!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Grim Lavamancer

     /  November 12, 2015

    I remember this guy from when I’ve first started to play. I took a good look at him and wondered why anyone would exchange a creature for a land. Of course I also wondered why anyone would bother to play a 1/1 at all. I remember thinking Muscle Burst was a pretty neat card though.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. psykopatmullvad

     /  November 14, 2015

    I will not order ten. Sorry.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

