Lazav’s Mind Grind won’t grind minds

Lazav bannerAfter about a month in what could most closely be regarded as developmental hell for my EDH decks, I’ve finally taken my new blue-black creation for a spin. I was away at a meeting over the weekend and got to play some EDH with a few people I usually don’t play with, so it was all good. Though focus was on Meren, I also got to take Omnath out for a spin, as well as Lazav – a month after sleeving him up.

I can imagine dedicated readers of this blog would never expect me to play Lazav – for several reasons. Just this summer, I wrote about how mill is bad in EDH, and I have written before about an old Lazav deck I used to play – in a post about failed decks.

This Lazav deck is a bit different however, and I have taken my criticism of my old deck into considerations:

The deck failed because it was slow, it didn’t synergise well enough in itself, and it was miles behind all the other decks in the room in terms of raw power. The four coloured mana needed to cast the commander himself was sometimes a hinderance, but often times the deck just drew a few cards, played a single spot removal and then rolled over to powerful combos. A huge let down.

lazav,dimirmastermind.hqThis is my latest Lazav deck, on TappedOut: Lazav’s Mind Grind. To address the issues listed above, I have added more coloured mana rocks to the deck – though the latest additions just after this weekend, so most of the 2-mana rocks are still untested. This helps combat the decks problems in the early game, and it helps cast the general himself. The deck has more milling instead of just spot removal, which helps finding stuff for the general to copy. In general (pun intended), the deck wants to win via general damage through a powerful copy + a sword or two. This means the deck has a lot more direction than the previous incarnation.

That said, the deck still hasn’t won a game, though it has killed players at a table. Mizzix, piloted by Grim Lavamancer, remains the unstoppable enemy in the games we played – the red-blue deck took down every single game we played, and not just against Lazav.

All isn’t doom and gloom, however, I am liking the deck quite a bit, and playing some blue is nice every once in a while – though a clear majority of my decks are non-blue. Maybe I’ll make some changes to the deck and see how it works out, and I’ve enlisted the help of Sean @copain26 Watson, co-host of the Commanderin’ podcast, and a Dimir and Lazav enthusiast. His list is way different from mine – and I might steal a few secrets from his deck. We’ll see.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Grim Lavamancer

     /  November 24, 2015

    To be fair to Lazav, Mizzix mostly won because she was really non-threatening the first couple of turns and the other decks had to focus on the more immediate threats that their opponents got out early on. It’s a bit ironic, but if Mizzix had gotten better starts during those games she probably would have lost a lot more.

    That said, I like the Lazav deck. Very sneaky in a flavourful Dimir way, a lot of strong cards (bonus points for adding the legendary kraken) without being to broken. I look forward to playing it some more.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • The deck did start off as a Wrexial project, actually 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      • I also like that the deck is random enough that most games with it will look very different. It all comes down to what Lazav copies, meaning the deck is a bit self-correcting in ways I’d otherwise regard Jeleva (i.e. the more powerful the other decks, the more powerful the general and vice-versa).

        Like

Leave a Reply

