[OGW] Ayli and red-white folkland!

oath bannerThe anticipated first of two folklands has been spoiled on the internets, and even though it is certainly classified as “unconfirmed” for now, it is also classified as “sweet”. I’d say it’s quite likely it is a fake indeed, but let’s entertain the thought that it is real. It looks like this:

indignation cliff2The activation is very efficiently costed, and I’m sure it will see plenty of constructed play as soon as some of the more popular 5-toughness creatures (Siege Rhino and Tasigur) rotate out of Standard. I quite like these dual-coloured folklands in EDH – mostly because it’s a threat that’s hard to percieve on a messy board, typical of EDH, and this leads to cituations where they can pick off Planeswalkers out of nowhere.

Overall, a solid card.

The next one is much more exciting, however. Feast your eyes on Ayli, Eternal Pilgrim:

aylieternalpilgrimApologies for the messy photo, but it’s the one available so far. I’d say she’s crazy in any format she’s allowed in, and she will definitely be played in EDH. Karlov has been recieving quite a bit of attention as a potential general of a BW lifegain strategy in EDH, and I’ve seen some very cool brews being posted on Twitter. That said, Ayli is no slouch, and might even be more threatening.

The only part I don’t like about her is the art – did they have to show her midsection for no reason? She’s out climbing mountains, surely wearing clothes that covers the entire body must be preferrable on account of winds, scratching rocks etc.?

Aside the dissapointing art, I’d say the card is a solid A+.


 

What do you think of these new spoilers? Leave a comment!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Grim Lavamancer

     /  December 2, 2015

    Hmmm, I’ll take a sceptical stance regarding their authenticity especially the manland, I find both the name and the illustration on the lower quality end of what we usually see on Magic cards nowadays, that combined with the blurriness of the picture makes me think it could be a fake.

    The Eternal Pilgrim seems a bit more legit to me, seems a bit on the powerful side but nothing unreasonable.

    Like

    Reply
    • I agree that the land does seem fake, I’d say it’s likely that it is. I’ll post an apology if that is the case.

      I believe Ayli is real though – I did get that picture from MythicSpoiler, they post fakes very rarely and seem to have good sources.

      Like

      Reply
  2. psykopatmullvad

     /  December 2, 2015

    I really like the new legendary lady! Seems good, cheap to cast and has a clear theme to build around in EDH! Im gopnna get one 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

