Wednesday nights with Roon

roon bannerLast night we had a gathering at my place for a few beers and some EDH, as has become custom for the last few weeks. I was trying to break in a new deck which I have been collecting cards for over the past few months – Roon of the Hidden Realm. I had a more blinky deck in mind when I picked him up this summer, but in the end I went for a more goodstuffy deck, but I liked how it played yesterday.

The list can be found here: Roon’s Boon, on TappedOut.net.

We played a four-player game, and while I was playing a new deck and I would like to talk about it, it is overshadowed by something rather out of the left field. Facing down Roon yesterday were:

Ezuri, Claw of Progress (more or less a re-made precon)
Lord of Tresserhorn (grixis griefing)
Kalemne, Disciple of Iroas (out-of-the-box precon)

kalemne,discipleofiroas.fullI was pleasently surprised by the Kalemne deck. She gets very big quite fast and can hit really hard. The scariest parts of the evening were when Kalemne had Sunrise Sovereign out, along with the commander herself, to make her an 8/8 Double Strike trampler. I think she can be really scary with a few modifications to her deck, and a Giants tribal theme is probably the way to go.

Roon was the first out from the game, I was an expert at drawing lands over the course of the game, and the hate combined from Ezuri and Lord of Griefing meant I couldn’t get anything off the ground. Kalemne was the one who finally ended it all, by commander damage slaughter on both Ezuri and Lord of Griefing.

Hats off to Kalemne for taking it all down in style!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. psykopatmullvad

     /  December 3, 2015

    Was there ANYONE missing Berit or Zurgo that night? ;D

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

