Wydwen takes flight!

wydwen bannerAfter a few weeks of trying Lazav, Dimir Mastermind a second time, I’ve come to the conclusion that he might not be the general for me. He is durdly, which is nice, but also a bit clunky, and I didn’t like having to dedicate deck slots to random mill effects. I might come back to him one day, but we’ll see. Chances are I will, but for now I’ve turned my attention to another 4 CMC 3/3 Dimir general – Wydwen, the Biting Gale!

When I constructed the deck – the idea in mind was to have a flexible deck, full of interactive instants, with Wydwen herself as the primary win condition. This is the list I came up with, after some thought, but no testing:

In Wydwen’s Ward, on TappedOut.net


 

I sleeved up the deck, and took it for a spin around the local gaming club. This evening, wydwen,thebitinggale.hqwe were only three attending, due to real life, and the opposition for the evening was Ezuri2/Kruphix (he played both over the evening – guy loves his Simic) and Kalemne/Glissa2 (same).

Out of the three games where I played Wydwen, I came away with two victories. I lost once to Ezuri, when he tossed a bunch of counters on Inkmoth Nexus. Thing is – Inkmoth Nexus itself didn’t bother me, since I could just block + bounce, but I died to regular combat damage over the course of two turns.

The other two games turned into long grinds, where I, among other things, got infinite value from threatening to use a spot removal for something like fifteen turns, prompting the others to attack each other instead. Both games were ended by Wydwen with a couple of weapons – the best one by far being Runechanter’s Pike.


 

runechanterspike.hqWhat really sold me onto the deck was two things – the flexibility and how she tends to play the turns really quickly – the deck is very much a “draw-go” deck, and when it starts dealing damage, it wins quite quickly. I can definitely see how she would be frustrating to play against, and I recall a friend playing her circa 2012 to some results (but mostly frustration), but at least I’m not taking 5 minute turns towards the end of the game. Taking shorter turns is less frustrating for everyone around the table, and it allows me to focus on the banter and politics that is inherently the best part of EDH.

The decks I’m currently playing the most are Meren, Roon, AngryOmnath and now Wydwen has joined the fun – and out of the four, Meren and Roon are both powerful decks, but both are really grindy and have a hard time closing games when they should. As such, I think having another deck capable of closing games in time will be beneficial, and Wydwen fits that bill way better than Lazav ever did.

I’m really looking forward to the next time I get to bring her out, hopefully against three or four opponents the next time. She might do less well against a larger table, I’m not sure, but more games in the near future will help me find that out.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Grim Lavamancer

     /  December 17, 2015

    Very nice! It’s almost crucial, at least to me, to have a good couple of games when you try a new deck – it certainly helps the long term health of the deck. Sounds like you had a very nice start with Wydwen! I look forward to playing against her with a mix of fear and excitement.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. psykopatmullvad

     /  December 17, 2015

    i remember FJ playing this commander way back with alot of sucsess too, so you should be fine.
    There has been alot of cards released since then that is good in a UB deck.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

