That time EDHrec was even more awesome

city of shakarAlready I have, at length, written about EDHrec.com on this site. It is one of the best resources for EDH on the internet, and I always go there to look up things I’m working on. Not for new tech, mind you, but to find cards that might be obvious inclusions that I just didn’t think about. Today, however, I wanted to share a story about a time when the guys at EDHrec were even more awesome than usually.

Back in December, EDHrec released their own playmats with their logos, and I commented on a picture of it on Facebook, asking if they ship to the EU. I need more mats, since my very first mat, an UltraPro mat with a dragon on it, has received more than its fair share of coffee  stains by now, my Grave Titan mat seems to be cursed (I went january-october of that year without even a single T8! Swapped back to my old mat, and won the next tournament), and the Brian Kibler lounging mat I got from my friend as a wedding gift was more than distracting.

Further, I sometimes host EDH nights at my place, and since most people in our group keep their mat at our LGC, they seldom bring it to my place. As such, it’s always good to have a couple of extra mats around, and I thought I could ask my wife for one for Christmas – she asked me what I wanted and I hadn’t given her a concrete reply.

EDHrec replied that they do indeed ship to the EU, but just a few minutes later, I got this message in my inbox:

edhrec

In the end, unfortunately, the shipping proved way too expensive, but I think it’s the thought that counts. Also, me being acknowledged as an “edhrec hipster” is way cooler than the playmat even!

I think, however, that this shows that EDHrec is concerned with its audience and its fans, and I urge everyone who uses the site to contact them via Twitter, Facebook or e-mail, I’ve always gotten replies when I’ve done so. I think it’s a good mark of respect from EDHrec that they take the time to answer questions and suggestions properly. Not everyone does that, not even in our EDH community, where most people are really cool.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Grim Lavamancer

     /  February 12, 2016

    I love EDHrec! I’ve been using it ever since you started to promote it a year or so ago. I usually give it a glance when I start to think about a new deck, for pretty much the same reason that you do, not necessarily to find the best cards, but to look for must includes that I might have missed.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

