Modern Bans: My predictions

look at me banner

Tonight is the big night (or big day, depending on what side of the Atlantic Ocean you are on), it’s finally time for Modern bans! Avid readers of this blog knows that I don’t really care, because Modern is shit, and I’m not alone in my opinon on this matter. Sean @copain26 Whatson of Commanderin’ fame, has been a vocal opponent to the way Modern has its way with the prices in Magic, and I couldn’t agree more.

However, I do follow the ban list, mostly because it’s funny, but also because there are deals to be made as cards are banned. So here are my uninitiated predictions:

Banned:
Eldrazi Temple / Eye of Ugin – One of these will have to go, but perhaps not both. The Eldrazi deck is way too strong in the metagame right now, and people have even been calling for emergency bans. Official sources have stated that something will be done about the deck, but they don’t want to neuter it entirely, meaning one will likely stay and the other will go. It’s awkward that both of these were included in last year’s Modern Masters edition, but that’s the way the cookie crumbles.

Unbanned:
Stoneforge Mystic – I don’t think this will be too oppressive in Modern. The format is full of removal, and Stoneforge Mystic is slow. Granted, Batterskull on turn three might be too powerful, but generally, I think it can be kept in check by running it over with a billion eldrazis on turn two! The only prohibitive part of this card is its price, which would certainly skyrocket, but that would in turn prompt a large-scale reprint at some point, beneficial for all Magic players!


What do you think of my predictions? Am I totally wrong? Leave a comment!

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. psykopatmullvad

     /  April 4, 2016

    i agree with both. But id like to add that i dot not want to see the eye banned, I prefer if the temple was razed. I love the tron dedck and the tron deck runs the eye, thats my entire thought of it tho 😀 But if WOTC says eye has to go, ill live with it, since i do really play very little Modern. But i find it an interesting format 😀

    Like

    Reply
  2. Grim Lavamancer

     /  April 4, 2016

    Well, it looks like you were right about Eye of Ugin. Other than that, no dramatic changes:

    Modern:
    Eye of Ugin banned
    Sword of the Meek, Ancestral Vision unbanned

    Vintage:
    Lodestone Golem restricted

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

