The Great Teacher’s domain

ojutai banner

A while back, I was talking to our friendly neighbourhood Lavamancer, on Facebook. This isn’t unusual, since we talk on Facebook most days – but on this particular day, we were talking about new EDH decks, and Mr. Lavamancer hatched the plan of building Dragonlord Atarka. I wasn’t to be outdone, so I countered (pun intended) by saying that I have to build Dragonlord Ojutai – which I did, though he finished his deck before I finished mine.

Mr. Lavamancer also came up with the rather excellent idea of drawing a custom playmat for his deck, and I asked him to make one for me too. Today, we got the results in the mailbox, and it was worth every penny, customs and all. I thought I’d show off my own playmat, with the hopes of Mr. Lavamancer showing off his in the near future.

ojutaimat 1

The playmat, in all its glory. Everything is drawn by Mr. Lavamancer, with periodic feedback from me. In essence, Mr. Lavamancer played up the Teacher aspect of The Great Teacher, which suits me just fine, since I’m a teacher too! There’s a lot of detail crammed in to the picture and some in-jokes, so I’ve snapped a few pictures to show off some of them (click to enlarge).


ojutaimat 7

Close-up of the board

ojutaimat 2

The teachers’ lounge, a.k.a. the command zone

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


ojutaimat 4

Random student, Blue from our own Mana Burn webcomic series, and Narset featuring a dunce cap

ojutaimat 5

Library, graveyard and exile zones respectively

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


ojutaimat 8

The Great Teacher hanging out in the teachers’ lounge!

ojutaimat 9

Some of the lands in the deck displayed in the classroom

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I can’t wait to break it out against the others on Friday, if I can find a hole in my schedule to get away for some EDH. I’m really happy with how the mat turned out!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Grim Lavamancer

     /  May 11, 2016

    I’m gushing with pride over here! I’m very happy that you liked it. It’s really bringing a tear to my eye to see actual cards on the playmat. Sulfur smelling tears, but tears nonetheless. I’ll make sure to take some pictures of my Atarka playmat as well!

    Like

    Reply
  1. The Dragon’s Bowl | Goyf Wars
  2. EDH deck update | Goyf Wars
  3. The Winter Dragon (Ojutai primer, pt. 1) | Goyf Wars

Leave a Reply

